#FallBackInTime with Historical Romance

Fall Back in Time with Historical Romance on November 1st

On the first Saturday in November, we here in the United States “fall back.”  We don’t literally fall back: we just make time go, well, backwards.  Every American (except those dogged rebels in Arizona and Hawaii) collectively sets their clocks back one hour to mourn observe the end of Daylight Savings Time and the return to Standard Time – or as I like to call it, “that time of year when daylight runs away too quickly, and it gets dark at 4:30pm, making me crazy-sleepy by 8:00pm.”

This year, however, the Historical Romance Network is livening up this sad task by asking fans of our genre to post selfies with a favorite historical romance novel.  Our selfies will let us “Fall Back in Time” to show how much we love our historicals!  And our genre is more diversified than ever: under the title Historical Romance you can find the subgenres of Viking, Medieval, Tudor, Elizabethan, Georgian, Regency, Victorian, Pirate, Colonial America, Civil War, Western, and Native American.  Those subgenres can be broken down even further into Paranormal, Erotic, Time Travel, Steampunk – well, you get the idea.

Historical Romance offers something (or several somethings) for every taste and interest.

Nerdy girls read love too!

So what’s my #FallBackInTime?

I’m falling back upon my introduction to the historical romance, which happened at the ripe old age of 15.  I was bored to tears one summer, stuck at my grandparents’ house with the classic “there’s nothing to do around here” complaint.  My sweet grandmother took me back to her room, to the back of her closet, and revealed her secret stash of romance novels.  They were stacked floor-to-ceiling.  They were amazing.

G.G.'s romance stash

G.G.’s closet romance stash – IKR?!

Alas, I was not allowed to dive willy-nilly into those books sporting colorful covers of bare-chested heroes and swooning heroines.  My grandmother, with her quiet southern drawl, gently instructed “Renée, you’re too young for the likes of Barbara Cartland and Kathleen Woodiwiss, but you can help yourself to the third shelf from the bottom.”  (My, how my G.G. would blush at my TBR shelf!)  Thus I chose my first historical romance.  It was nothing like what I read or write today, but it was enough to get me hooked.  Behold, Love Comes Softly, by Janette Oke.

#FallBackInTime - way back to 1991

#FallBackInTime – way back to the hardcover of Love Comes Softly that I first read in 1991

Now it’s time for you to get in on the fun!

Dig through your shelves of books and post a selfie showing your first or favorite historical romance.  Get creative and snap a shot of your face between the first and last historical romances you read.  Immortalize yourself with the book from your favorite subgenre (go Regency!).  Take a selfie with your desert island must-have.

Just hashtag your picture #FallBackInTime.  Tweet it to me @eenayray, post it in the comments below, or head over to the Fall Back In Time Facebook Page and share your selfie with other Historical Romance addicts.

Hit me with your best shot!

Who wouldn't love a flirty rake with a fan?

